The Facial Reconstruction of Simon Sudbury

The Skull

The skull is made up of 22 bones, that can be divided into two sets:
  1. The cranial bones, which house and protects the brain; and
  2. The facial bones, which form the skeleton of the face.
All the bones of the skull are immovably joined together with the exception of mandible, which articulates at the temporomandibular joint (TMJ).

The cranial bones consist of 8 bones, while the facial bones comprises of 14 bones.

  • Occipital bone
  • Two Parietal bones
  • Frontal bone
  • Two Temporal bones
  • Sphenoidal bone
  • Ethmoidal bone

  • Two Nasal bones
  • Two Maxillae bones
  • Two Lacrimal bones
  • Two Zygomatic bones
  • Two Palatine bones
  • Two Inferior Nasal Conchae
  • Vomer
  • Mandible

The Skull Sutures

Each bone in the skull is held together by an immovable joint called a suture.  Listed below are the four prominent sutures of the skull:
  1. The coronal suture, which joins the frontal bone to the two parietal bones.
  2. The sagittal suture, which joins the two parietal bones together at the top of the skull.
  3. The lambdoid suture, which joins the two parietal bones to the occipital bone.
  4. The squamous sutures, which join the parietal bones to the temporal bones.


Grabowski, T. (2003) Principles of Anatomy and Physiology.  John Wiley & Sons, Inc.
Wilkinson, CM.  (2004) Forensic Facial Reconstruction.  Cambridge University Press.

Illustrations by Adrienne Barker